The Center on Global Energy Policy is supported by an Academic Steering Committee composed of leading faculty in relevant fields at Columbia University. The committee provides intellectual guidance and support for our research and programs around the world. 


Dr. Scott Barrett: Vice Dean, School of International and Public Affairs; Lenfest-Earth Institute Professor of Natural Resource Economics, SIPA: 

Dr. Steve Cohen: Professor in the Practice of Public Affairs, SIPA; Director, Research Program on Sustainability Policy and Management, The Earth Institute; Director, MPA in Environmental Science and Policy, SIPA 

Dr. Alex Cooley: Director, Harriman Institute; Claire Tow Professor of Political Science, Barnard College, Columbia University

Dr. Ruth Defries: Denning Family Professor of Sustainable Development in the Department of Ecology, Evolution and Environmental Biology

Dr. Caroline Flammer: Professor International and Public Affairs, Columbia University 

Dr. Tim Frye: Marshall D. Shulman Professor of Post-Soviet Foreign Policy, Columbia University 

Mr. Michael B. Gerrard: Andrew Sabin Professor of Professional Practice & Director, Center for Climate Change Law, Columbia Law School

Dr. Alex Halliday: Director of Columbia’s Earth Institute

Dr. Geoffrey M. Heal: Donald C. Waite III Professor of Social Enterprise, Columbia Business School

Dr. Diana Hernandez: Associate Professor, Sociomedical Sciences, Mailman School of Public Health

Dr. Peter Keleman: Arthur D. Storke Professor & Chair of the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences, Columbia University

Dr. Safwan Masri: Adjunct Professor of International and Public Affairs; Adjunct Senior Research Scholar, SIPA

Dr. Faye McNeil: Professor of Chemical Engineering, Columbia Engineering

Dr. Vijay Modi: Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, The Fu Foundation School of Engineering and Applied Science

Dr. Alissa Park: Lenfest Chair in Applied Climate Science & Director, Lenfest Center for Sustainable Energy, Department of Earth and Environmental Engineering, Department of Chemical Engineering

Dr. Ken Prewitt: Carnegie Professor of Public Affairs, School of International and Public Affairs; Special Advisor to the President of Columbia University 

Dr. Mo Raymo: Interim Director, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory; Adjunct Professor, Earth and Environmental Sciences

Dr. Steve Sestanovich: Kathryn and Shelby Cullom Davis Professor for the Practice of International Diplomacy, School of International and Public Affairs

Dr. Dan Steingart: Co-Director of Columbia Electrochemical Energy Center; Stanley-Thompson Associate Professor of Chemical Metallurgy, Department of Earth and Environmental Engineering, Department of Chemical Engineering

Mr. Bruce Usher: Co-Director of the Tamer Center for Social Enterprise; Elizabeth B. Strickler '86 and Mark T. Gallogly '86 Faculty Director; Professor of Professional Practice