Hear in-depth conversations with the world’s top energy and climate leaders from government, business, academia, and civil society.


Find out more about our upcoming and past events.


SIPA Partners in Improving Energy Policy

The Center on Global Energy Policy is supported through contributions to Columbia’s School of International and Public Affairs from a variety of sources, including foundations, corporations, and individual donors who share Columbia University’s commitment to improving energy policy through rigorous and independent analysis and engaged dialogue on global climate and energy issues. We are deeply appreciative of those who support our work and take transparency of funding very seriously, which is why all are listed on our website.

Additional Resources and Information

  • Partnerships: The Office of Corporate & Foundation Relations in the University’s Office of Alumni and Development works with foundations and corporations to develop partnerships that advance Columbia’s research, scholarship, and strategic initiatives, and that align with our partners’ philanthropic missions.
  • Research Compliance: The Office of Research Compliance and Training helps ensure that Columbia faculty, students and staff are in compliance with the complex web of regulatory requirements that govern research.
  • Conflicts of Interest: The University’s policies addressing conflicts of interest in research are designed to maintain the trust of the public, research volunteers, and the University research community and to protect against risks to research integrity, research participants and the academic mission that may result from individual or institutional conflicts of interest in research.
  • Research Misconduct: The University’s Standing Committee on the Conduct of Research implements the Institutional Policy on Misconduct in Research has put in place policies and procedures that define misconduct, outline the process for investigating allegations, and explain the consequences of committing misconduct to ensure the integrity of our research.
  • International Research: To help researchers plan for risks and requirements that may be associated with international projects, the University has established International Research Risk Management Procedures
  • Economic Sanctions and Restricted Parties: Certain entities and individuals are subject to sanctions or other restrictions under U.S. law. These restrictions apply to both domestic and foreign entities and individuals and may restrict the University’s ability to engage in a project, collaboration or other transaction with that entity or individual.

Visionary Annual Circle

Visionary Annual Circle members consist of those corporations, foundations, and individual donors that have made an annual or multi-year, aggregate commitment of $1,000,000 or more

Jay Bernstein
Breakthrough Energy LLC
Children’s Investment Fund Foundation (CIFF)
Matthew Harris
Ray Rothrock
Kimberly and Scott Sheffield
Occidental Petroleum Corporation
Tellurian Inc.

Leadership Annual Circle

Leadership Annual Circle members consist of those corporations, foundations, and individual donors that have made an annual commitment of $200,000 or more, or a multi-year, aggregate commitment in excess of $500,000.

Aramco Services Company
Bernard and Anne Spitzer Charitable Trust
Coterra Energy Inc
Devon Energy
HIF Global
Jonathan Goldberg
The William and Flora Hewlett Foundation
JPMorgan Chase & Co.
Maria Jelescu
Mark Gallogly and Lise Strickler / Three Cairns
National Grid plc
New York Power Authority
Jeremy Oppenheim / Quadrature Capital Foundation
Royal Dutch Shell plc
Mike and Sofia Segal
Sumant Sinha and Vaishali Nigam-Sinha
Alfred P. Sloan Foundation

Sustaining Annual Circle

Sustaining Annual Circle members consist of those corporations, foundations, and individual donors that have made an annual commitment of $1,000 or more.

Osmar Abib
American Council on Renewable Energy
Nick Beim
Bill Budinger / Rodel Foundation
California Independent System Operator (CAISO)
ClearPath Inc.
ClimateWorks Foundation
Arden D. Down
Veenita and Chinonso Emehelu
Energy Foundation
Environmental Defense Fund
European Climate Foundation
Charles and Sara Fabrikant
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
Founders Pledge, Inc.
Matt Fox
Tanya and Gary T. Giglio
Global Infrastructure Partners
Growald Family Fund
Hrousis Family Fund
Paul Joskow and Dr. Barbara Zita Chasen
Peter Kagan and Susannah Smetana Kagan
J.M. Kaplan Fund
Laura and Brooks Klimley
Cheryl LaFleur and William Kuncik
Jonathan Scott Lavine and Jeannie B. Lavine
Linden Trust for Conservation
Bruce MacLennan and Wan Li SIPA ’01
Christopher P. McDougal
The Cynthia and George Mitchell Foundation
Dr. Edward L. Morse and Linda Morse
National Hydropower Association
Natural Resources Defense Council
New Jersey Resources
Mary Nichols
Dr. Meghan O’Sullivan
Pioneer Natural Resources
Daniel B. Poneman
Point72 Asset Management LP
Ann and Gopal Reddy / Climate Pathfinders
Renewable Energy Buyers Alliance
Rocky Mountain Institute
Theodore Roosevelt IV
Dr. Gary N. Ross / Gary and Carol Ross Foundation
Salim Samaha
Wendy and Jeffrey E. Schwarz
Phil Sharp
Suhail Adham Sikhtian
Susan Tierney
Michael Tusiani
United States Energy Association/Department of Energy
David Wallerstein
Lulu C. Wang
Douglas M. Wharton
Tracy Wolstencroft
Daniel Yergin