SIPA Partners in Improving Energy Policy

The Center on Global Energy Policy is supported through contributions to Columbia’s School of International and Public Affairs from a variety of sources, including foundations, corporations, and individual donors who share Columbia University’s commitment to improving energy policy through rigorous and independent analysis and engaged dialogue on global climate and energy issues. We are deeply appreciative of those who support our work and takes transparency of funding very seriously, which is why all are listed on our website. 

Our scholars carry out their research by following facts and evidence wherever they lead, independently and free from any influence or control by funders or other interest groups. They adhere to strict conflict of interest policies established by Columbia University to protect against real or perceived risks to the integrity of research. All gifts to SIPA must be approved by and adhere to the University’s robust review and approval of all funding. All contributions to SIPA for the benefit of CGEP are general use gifts that allow the Center discretion in how the funds are allocated and to ensure that our research remains independent, unless otherwise noted in relevant publications. Funding does not equal influence. It is not possible for any funding to pay for a specific research result. 

*This list is updated periodically and was last updated in December 2020.

Additional Resources and Information

  • Partnerships: The Office of Corporate & Foundation Relations in the University's Office of Alumni and Development works with foundations and corporations to develop partnerships that advance Columbia’s research, scholarship, and strategic initiatives, and that align with our partners’ philanthropic missions.
  • Research Compliance: The Office of Research Compliance and Training helps ensure that Columbia faculty, students and staff are in compliance with the complex web of regulatory requirements that govern research.
  • Conflicts of Interest: The University’s policies addressing conflicts of interest in research are designed to maintain the trust of the public, research volunteers, and the University research community and to protect against risks to research integrity, research participants and the academic mission that may result from individual or institutional conflicts of interest in research.
  • Research Misconduct: The University’s Standing Committee on the Conduct of Research implements the Institutional Policy on Misconduct in Research has put in place policies and procedures that define misconduct, outline the process for investigating allegations, and explain the consequences of committing misconduct to ensure the integrity of our research.
  • International Research: To help researchers plan for risks and requirements that may be associated with international projects, the University has established International Research Risk Management Procedures
  • Economic Sanctions and Restricted Parties: Certain entities and individuals are subject to sanctions or other restrictions under U.S. law.  These restrictions apply to both domestic and foreign entities and individuals and may restrict the University’s ability to engage in a project, collaboration or other transaction with that entity or individual.


Visionary Annual Circle

Visionary Annual Circle members consist of those foundations, corporations, and individual donors that have made an annual or multi-year, aggregate commitment of $1,000,000 or more

Air Products


Jay Bernstein

Breakthrough Energy LLC

Children’s Investment Fund Foundation (CIFF)

Occidental Petroleum Corporation

Ray Rothrock

Kimberly and Scott Sheffield 

Tellurian Inc. 


LEadership Annual Circle

Leadership Annual Circle members consist of those foundations, corporations, and individual donors that have made an annual commitment of $200,000 or more, or a multi-year, aggregate commitment in excess of $500,000. 

ABN Amro

Aramco Services Company 

Bernard and Anne Spitzer Charitable Trust 


Cheniere Energy, Inc.


Devon Energy

Dow Chemical



Mark Gallogly and Lise Strickler / Three Cairns

Jonathan Goldberg

Matthew Harris 

The William and Flora Hewlett Foundation 

Maria Jelescu

JPMorgan Chase & Co.

National Grid plc

New York Power Authority

Jeremy Oppenheim / Quadrature Capital Foundation

Royal Dutch Shell plc

Mike and Sofia Segal

Sumant Sinha and Vaishali Nigam-Sinha

Alfred P. Sloan Foundation


Sustaining Annual Circle members consist of those foundations, corporations, and individual donors that have made an annual commitment of $1,000 or more.

Osmar Abib

American Council on Renewable Energy

Nick Beim

Bill Budinger / Rodel Foundation

California Independent System Operator (CAISO)



ClearPath Inc.

ClimateWorks Foundation

Arden D. Down

Veenita and Chinonso Emehelu


Energy Foundation 


Environmental Defense Fund


European Climate Foundation


Charles and Sara Fabrikant

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations

Founders Pledge, Inc.

Matt Fox

Tanya and Gary T. Giglio

Global Infrastructure Partners 


Growald Family Fund

Hrousis Family Fund

Paul Joskow and Dr. Barbara Zita Chasen

JERA Co., Inc. 

Peter Kagan and Susannah Smetana Kagan

J.M. Kaplan Fund

Laura and Brooks Klimley

Cheryl LaFleur and William Kuncik

Jonathan Scott Lavine and Jeannie B. Lavine

Linden Trust for Conservation 

Bruce MacLennan and Wan Li SIPA '01

Christopher P. McDougal


The Cynthia and George Mitchell Foundation 

Dr. Edward L. Morse and Linda Morse

National Hydropower Association

Natural Resources Defense Council

New Jersey Resources


Mary Nichols


Dr. Meghan O'Sullivan

Pioneer Natural Resources

Daniel B. Poneman

Point72 Asset Management LP

Ann and Gopal Reddy / Climate Pathfinders

Renewable Energy Buyers Alliance 

Rocky Mountain Institute 

Theodore Roosevelt IV

Dr. Gary N. Ross / Gary and Carol Ross Foundation

Salim Samaha

Wendy and Jeffrey E. Schwarz


Phil Sharp

Suhail Adham Sikhtian


Susan Tierney

Total S.A.

Michael Tusiani

United States Energy Association/Department of Energy


David Wallerstein

Lulu C. Wang 

Douglas M. Wharton

Tracy Wolstencroft

Daniel Yergin